OIL PULLING

photo (3)

Oil pulling… How does it sound to you?

To be honest, the first time I heard about that, I was quite disgusted by the technique… Yep.. you heard me right!

But, then, I convinced myself to try it out as I have sensitive gums and one of my yoga teachers advised me to try oil pulling with sesame oil to soothe them. Sesame oil is indeed often used in Ayurveda to reduce the Vata Dosha that can lead to having a dry mouth and also a dry skin (I love massages with sesame oil: It also has a warming and calming effect on the whrilwind of the mind).

So how to now?

1- Choose a good quality oil (sesame, virgin coconut oil for its antibacterial properties or sunflower oil – I often pick the sunflower oil because of its neutral taste).

2- When you wake up, start your day by rinsing your mouth with a tablespoon of oil for about 20 to 30 minutes (that is.. if you are patient and if you are not late for work of course!).

3- After those 20 minutes washing your mouth with the oil, spit it in your toilets (not in the sink to prevent obstruction from happening!).

4- Rinse your mouth with warm luke water and finally scrap your tongue.

Oil-pulling addicts will say that it gives you an amazing holistic body detox. They will claim that it clears the skin, relieve you from headaches, etc.
But, to be honest, I haven’t noticed these benefits so far (after 1 year and a half of oil-pulling).
The only thing I can tell you is that:
– I have the impression to have clean teeth and gums afterwards.
– I feel fresh this is why I’m keen on doing it first thing in the morning!
– And my gums have been hurting less since I started oil-pulling.
But, hey! Never forget that everybody is different.
We all react in various ways.
So just give it try and let me know how you feel after 1 or 2 months (don’t try only for one day, ok?).
One thought on “OIL PULLING

Leave a Reply

